Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 3rd Dec 2019 at 11:36 PM
Default Custom Skills?
I haven't been able to find much about this, but does anyone have info on creation of custom skills?
I have some modding ideas that will require the create-a-career tool but will also need added skills not included in the game.
I understand that skills involve both XML and data files, and I have some experience with modification of both.
However, I can't just copy an existing skill because I also need to be able to change how the skill is increased.
Advertisement
Field Researcher
#2 Old 4th Dec 2019 at 5:06 AM
Only a few people have made custom skills, that is why there is no info on this. And you actually do copy an existing skill to create yours, and that was said just a few days ago by Icemunmun on the Deaderpool Discord server. Find a skill that is close to how you want yours done, copy all the tuning, and then make changes to fit your skill. As for the skill increasing, you'll need to figure out how and why it increases, then either make new interactions (suggested), or inject, or override, game tuning to include skill increase details. The last one is not recommended only because of possible conflicts, etc.

Creator Musings is a Sims 4 modder, poser/animator, and CC creator hangout server (though everyone is allowed) with a tutorial/resource directory, help channels, and mod/cc/sims 4 news channels!
My Discord | Twitter | Tumblr | Patreon
Test Subject
Original Poster
#3 Old 5th Dec 2019 at 5:57 PM